Photo: Kaber Chapel, Cumbria

Testimonials

Kaber Chapel is a very special place, as soon as you arrive the character of the building wins you over. We stayed in a party of 10 adults for a 40th Birthday celebration weekend. The chapel was perfect for this with ample room and facilities to allow everyone to relax in their own space but then meet in the common areas for food and socialising. We honestly can not fault Kaber Chapel it has given us a fantastic weekend with great friends and the little details really are the icing on the cake. The robes, slippers, treats dotted around are just a lovely touch. We will be back.

Oct 2019

Absolutely beautiful. All the little details and touches were just wonderful. Thank you so much!

Oct 2019

An amazing three days to celebrate a 50th. Amazing space, wonderful facilities. The 'detail' made it special. Keep doing what you are doing! We'll be back!

Sep 2019

Thank you for a lovely week. Lots of lovely touches. Hot tub was fab. BBQ great. Enjoyed visiting nearby waterfalls. Sad to leave.

Aug 2019

An amazing unique holiday property in a lovely setting.

Aug 2019

Fantastic, everything we could want. Thank you for a great weekend.

Jul 2019

A perfect group accommodation for the weekend and couldn’t have asked for more. The attention to detail for both amenities, essentials and also the ‘surprises’ were fantastic. The handing of the keys was easy and the host was very helpful on arrival giving us a tour of the chapel and informing us of anything we needed to know. Everyone commented on how nice the chapel was and how it really made the weekend. Super accommodation and if in the area would definitely stay again.

(Review posted on Trip Advisor)

Jul 2019

We had an amazing stay at Kaber Chapel for our girls’ weekend away. The setting was lovely and the house was perfect with lots of lovely little extras. Would definitely recommend! We also had lovely massages from Katie and a paddle-boarding trip at Ullswater Paddle boarding and could not recommended both more highly. Thank you all for making our stay so special.

(Review posted on Facebook)

Jul 2019

Wow! The Chapel is 'fandabidozi'. What an exquisite place to have our daughter's 50th birthday celebration. The children loved all the Roald Dahl references and the hot tub. The indoor BBQ added the finishing touches due to the wet weather.

Jun 2019

Lovely stay catching up with friends, had a fantastic BBQ & enjoyed the weekend.

Jun 2019

We had a lovely weekend made all the better by this fantastic chapel!

Apr 2019

Great accommodation, is a great location, spacious and well equiped.

Apr 2019

Thank you for a lovely weekend staying in the gorgeous chapel! We loved the little touches and gifts. Beautifully converted, containing everything we could've needed. A lovely place for 8 friends to meet, catch up and enjoy

Feb 2019

Absolutely beautiful place. Thank you ever so much, a great time, will definitely return

Feb 2019

What a fantastic place. Had a great birthday celebration for mother and son. Enjoyed all the facilities and will definitely come again. Will definitely recommend to others

Jan 2019

WOW! Fantastic place. Everything you would want in one place. Amazing, thank you so much. Would recommend, FANTASTIC

Jan 2019

Absolutely unreal! We have had the most amazing weekend!

Jan 2019

What a fabulous place to stay. Alison made it special with all the little presents and birthday touches. We have had the best time

Dec 2018

Fabulous weekend celebrating my husbands 50th Birthday In November 2018. Loved the space, great for a group celebration. Everything had been thought about - great kitchen and barbecue area. Had dinner catered for us on the Saturday evening by Pat at Swanson House. Easy walk across the fields to the next village (good pub) and Kirkby Stephen - saw red squirrels.

(Review posted on Facebook)

Nov 2018


Absolutely amazing, beautiful 5 star accommodation. Travelled with 7 others for my 50th birthday celebrations. There is nothing negative to say about this place and we will definitely be back. Fantastically renovated and lots of lovely little touches. Made good use of the indoor BBQ, hot tub and sauna.

(Review posted on Google Maps)

Nov 2018

Perfect accommodation for groups. We were 4 couples celebrating 2 big birthdays. There are lots of lovely touches which I won't reveal and keep as a surprise for any future guests. The kitchen has everything you need. I brought lots of "just in case" things which I don't think I used much of. We had a great weekend and made lots of lovely memories.

(Review posted on Google Maps)

Nov 2018

Weekend celebrating a 70th birthday. There is everything you need for a great break in the chapel. Really impressed at the attention to detail and the little hidden delights around the place were a big hit with our 5 year old. Thank you

Oct 2018

Fantastic 9 day stay. Always wanted to stay in a church and what a transformation. Very tasteful conversion. Views from upstairs lounge were wonderful. Weather couldn't have been better. The change in season and the effect on landscapes really captured our imagination. It was like the fall seen in America but so close to home. Over the week the scenery has changed in front of our eyes. Best week we could have chosen. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable

Oct 2018

Amazing place everything was just fantastic we went for my dads 60th birthday with the family the place felt like your own home so comfortable thank you for a amazing weekend definitely would recommend to people and stay there again but for longer.

(Review posted on Facebook)

Sep 2018

Lovely Place. We had a lovely family week chilling and relaxing. Thank-you.

Sep 2018

Fascinating building which has been modernised uniquely, yet still keeping the charm and historical feeling and features.

Aug 2018

Beautiful accommodation with ample space and amenities. The indoor BBQ room makes it something special with the added bonus of an indoor hot tub and sauna means come rain or shine fun can be had during your stay. I loved all the Dahl trinkets to find around the chapel too and I want them showers at my house! Loved spending my mother in laws 60th birthday together with all the family at this amazing place.

(Review posted on Facebook)

Aug 2018

My family booked Kaber Chapel as a surprise for my 60th Birthday. From the moment I walked into this building, I have been totally intrigued and fascinated with every aspect of staying in this beautiful, warm and welcoming chapel. I particularly like the whole layout of the dining/kitchen, spacious lounge, hot tub & sauna and all the beautiful bedrooms (especially ours with the bath!!). I have travelled all over the world but never stayed in such an amazing place like Kaber Chapel.

Aug 2018

Thank-you for a wonderful stay in a beautiful location. Loved the unique touches and as a lover of the Roald Dahl books they didn't go unnoticed. Lovely weekend. Thank you for being great hosts.

Jul 2018

Fantastic weekend. Would highly recommend. This place is in a great remote location. If you want a quiet, peaceful break away, this place is perfect.

May 2018

The location is fantastic and the chapel is fully equipped to meet all needs. The booking was easy and the welcome warm.

Mar 2018

We had the good fortune to enjoy a weekend stay at Kaber Chapel in October 2016. Our group was made up of eight adults and one well-behaved dog. Alison was very welcoming and showed us where everything was and how everything worked. The Chapel is very well appointed and very comfortably furnished. The hot tub, sauna and inside BBQ were a huge hit and were well used during our stay. The views from the Chapel over the surrounding countryside are stunning and there are plenty of local walks to go on as well as a fab country pub in Winton called The Bay Horse, which is just a two-minute drive away. Would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for a luxurious, dog friendly, self-catering holiday in a stunning part of Cumbria. We will definitely be booking the Chapel again.

May 2016

The chapel was superb; the family enjoyed it very much. Many positive comments from family and friends.

Apr 2015

Photo: old keys at Kaber Chapel