Photo: Kaber Chapel, Cumbria

Testimonials

Wow! What an amazing place to celebrate my birthday with my closest family. Nine of us all together. Loved the treats and themes in the rooms. Kitchen was well equipped. We loved the sheep too!

May 2024

Great venue for a get together, very well equipped and warm. 'Storm Kathleen' but she never bothered us inside. Cosy and relaxing, enjoyed very much visualising how it used to be as a chapel. Somebody has really thought through, high standard. Lovely fluffy towels. Thank you for all the little extras.

Apr 2024

Thank you for a wonderful stay in your beautiful chapel. We were so comfortable and really enjoyed the hot tub and sauna. Thank you for all the extras, we had the best time.

Mar 2024

We've had a wonderful relaxing time. A beautiful location and home to spend some family time together. Home from home - nice not to have to worry about having enough towels, etc. Thank you,

Feb 2024

Had an amazing stay at your beautiful chapel Alison. The little personal details were really touching thank you, all the little hidden treasures in and around the chapel are a really beautiful touch. Such high quality and we wanted for nothing, you have literally thought of everything in detail for people to be able to enjoy their stay. Thank you so so much and look forward to coming back again.

Jan 2024

A lovely Christmas week. The weather was blowy and wet but we enjoyed the cosiness of the chapel and celebtrated Christmas in style. Thank you.

Dec 2023

Came down for a family party for a 50th birthday, had a great time, everything was great. Loved the barbeque area, sauna and hot tub. Would definately recommend to anyone. Thanks for a great break.

Nov 2023

We had a lovely break, the chapel was perfect for our family celebration. The little touches were lovely. The chapel was equipped with everything we needed. The hot tub and indoor BBQ were an added bonus. Thank you very much!

Nov 2023

This was a surprise early 90th birthday celebration arranged by my family. Walking into this wonderful building left me spellbound! Every little detail has been catered for to make this weekend 'the best ever'.

The peaceful surroundings of this countryside are lovely to see.

I must thank my family for this memorable occasion and thanks also to Alison for the use of this fantastic home.

Oct 2023

Wow! What a wonderful place to relax with friends and enjoy the most special birthday celebrations. The chapel truly is a first class experience with great facilities, comfortable living and some lovely personal touches. With stunning walks and views on the doorstep this is the perfect location. Thank you Alison for making our weekend so amazing. We all look forward to returning in the future.

Oct 2023

Fantastic weekend together closing one chapter, celebrating our friendship, remembering an absent friend and opening the next. We loved Kaber Chapel, walked miles, enjoyed the hot tub, sauna, indoor barbecue and the themed rooms. Looking forward to returning in the future.

Oct 2023

What a fabulous place Kaber Chapel is. This was my 3rd visit (previous visits with the girls). This time there were 8 of us and two dogs (2 families) stayed in July 23 to celebrate mother in laws 80th. There aren’t many places that cater for this amount of guests with a bathroom for each room. The chapel is so cozy and welcoming it really is home from home. The interior design is outstanding and we loved the themed rooms. The kitchen is very well equipped I can’t think of anything that was missing. The sauna, hot tub and inside BBQ just added that special touch and entertained us when the weather was bad. Great walks and fresh air, a fabulous weekend was had by all. Thank you Alison your Chapel is amazing.

Sep 2023

A beautiful chapel renovation, very sympathetically restored. It had all modern conveniences and we appreciated the attention to detail. We had a fab holiday even when it poured down! Thank you.

Aug 2023

A super place to spend our Diamond Wedding Anniversary with family. Thank you.

Aug 2023

We have had a fantastic weekend. The chapel is beautiful and love the finishing touches. We will be back. Thank you.

Jul 2023

The first of 50th birthday celebrations have been a perfect success. Perfect accommodation, perfect weather and perfect surroundings. All three generations have had a wonderful weekend break. Thank you.

May 2023

Beautiful place to celebrate a friend's birthday. Lovely cooking, facilities and views.

Had an absolute amazing time here, lovely views, great place. Ideal to come and relax with friends. Definitely a place to come back to!!

One word sums it up. Wow! This wonderful place made my partner's birthday. Couldn't ask for a better place to celebrate. Thank you.

May 2023

A beautiful renovation in a beautiful place! Thank you.

Apr 2023

I first saw Kaber Chapel advertised 10 years ago and since then I have been desperate to visit! It was certainly worth the wait! An amazing and beautiful building. Relaxing, peaceful and all the facilities and amenities we could need. Thank you for a fabulous weekend, will highly recommend to friends and family.

Apr 2023

Thank you for the most perfect weekend. Wonderful views, wonderful facilities, wonderful company and memories.

Apr 2023

Came here for a 70th celebration and what a fantastic time we have had! All the family together in such a fantastic, memorable building. The BBQ area, hot tub and sauna are amazing. Our 9 year old loved it, as did we all. Thank you for all the special touches. We will be back!!

Feb 2023

This was a return visit after our fabulous weekend the same time last year. We absolutely love it here. Perfect for relaxation, recharging and of course party central all in one. Lots of us are coming again with other groups. Such an amazing place.

Jan 2023

Fab location to escape busy life!! Loved the themed rooms and dining area which was the perfect congregation area for bringing people together for food, drinks or conversation by the log burning fire.

Jan 2023

A lovely New Year break in a wonderful location. All of the little touches were fantastic and very much appreciated. The chapel was very warm and welcoming - a wonderful place for a family get together. Thank you for having us.

Jan 2023

After coming for the first time last year and loving it, we booked for Christmas. Again, we have had the best time and are gutted to be going home. The chapel is a home from home place with each room giving comfort and everything you need. It really did add a magical touch to Christmas. We will return again in the future.

Dec 2022

A return visit for us and just as wonderful as the first. Everything is just perfect and we had the most amazing weekend. We'll be back and can't thank you enough for making the chapel so welcoming.

Dec 2022

Amazing place. We will definately return.

Nov 2022

Amazing weekend. 5*. Thank you.

Nov 2022

A wonderful stay in this beautiful chapel. Everything is perfect, well equiped. Lovely little touches in each room. Wonderful scenery. We will be back next year.

Nov 2022

Thank you for a wonderful stay, it was exactly what we hoped for and had a fabulous family celebration.

Oct 2022

What a wonderful place! We loved every minute of our stay, the special touches are much appreciated, a truly memorable experience. Thank you so much to our lovely hosts!

Oct 2022

Fab house to celebrate with friends - we loved every minute. Very cosy and warm. Lovely local walk into Kirkby Stephen and then a fabulous meal at The Bay Horse. We will be returning!!!


Oct 2022

Thank you so much for a beautiful stay, this house is absolutely gorgeous. We had a fantastic time here for a wedding and fell in love with the area. I hope to have many more stays in the future.

Sep 2022

A really enjoyable stay - very cosy and homely. We loved it!

Sep 2022

The chapel was lovely and welcoming when we arrived. It beat our expectations and more than catered for our needs. We enjoyed local walks and pubs with our dogs and then coming back to the hot tub and sauna to wind down. Amazing experience. Will definately be recommending to family and friends.

Aug 2022

A great family holiday visiting the area and staying in such wonderful accommodation.

Aug 2022

A perfect location for a much needed weekend and birthday celebration. All the facilities we needed with plenty of space. All the little 'extras' were perfect. Thank you for a great stay.

Jul 2022

Well what can we say that hasn't been said already. Although we only live 40 mins away, I couldn't resist coming here with the family to celebrate my 70th birthday, it was such a good decision. From walking in the door it was just so much more than I expected, the photos do not do it justice. Despite the size and openness of the chapel it has such a lovely ambience. We loved every minute of it. Thank you so much for everything.

Jul 2022

Had an amazing stay here for my 40th birthday! Loved walk to/from Kirkby Stephen. We'll definitely be back. Thank you.

Jun 2022

Loved our second visit as much as our first. We have everything we need here and will definietly be coming again.

Jun 2022

Fantastic chapel. The host has thought of everything. Love the little touches throughout. Great location. The weather helped over the Jubilee Weekend. Would recommend for large groups - Amazing. Celebrating a 40th Birthday.

Jun 2022

Fantastic venue!! Everything we could have needed was provided!! Love Love Love the extra touches. Please keep them. Thank you.

May 2022

Finally after 2 years of waiting we made it! Well worth the wait, had an amazing time, attention to detail is second to none! Would highly recommend! Thank you.

May 2022

Our friend's wedding celebrations - We had an amazing time in this beautiful chapel. You really have thought of everything. Thank you.

Apr 2022

Enjoyed a fabulous few days at Kaber Chapel. Couldn't fault anything, it was perfect. Even the weather was kind to us. Thank you.

Apr 2022

Lovely weekend here with wonderful memories! Perfect 30th Birthday! Thank you.

Mar 2022

Had a great time celebrating three birthdays in the family. Got lucky with the weather and had a great time. Thank you.

Feb 2022

Wow! What a place, spot on for the double 60th celebrations! Weather lousy so had to stay in a lot, what a shame! Full use of all the facilities was made. Thank you.

Feb 2022

Absolutely loved our family weekend at Kaber Chapel. The weather was awful so stayed in the chapel most of the weekend. Played games, used the facilities, loved all the little 'treats', had a great time. Thank you.

Feb 2022

A group of friends celebrating a 50th Birthday. We have thoroughly enjoyed our time in the chapel and surrounding area. The chapel is both comfy and unique! A great find and we will be back!

Jan 2022

We have had an overwhelming beautiful weekend! The chapel was a perfect location for our Christmas/Birthday getaway. We've totally made the most of the facilities and barely left the house! Thank you for memories we will remember FOREVER!

Dec 2021

We have made memories that money can't buy. Thank you for letting us stay at your amazing chapel. My Dad was overwhelmed by his 90th celebrations.

Nov 2021

Amazing!!! What more can I say. Wonderful place to stay - such character and comfort.

Nov 2021

Kaber Chapel is a stunning, thoughtful conversion finished to an extremely high detail. The amount of thought that has gone into providing absolutely everything that you could need for a hassle free stay is incredible - from the kitchen equipment, utensils, etc to the range of games and other entertainment and extensive information packages. We had a trip out to High Force waterfall which is stunning and well worth the half hour drive, and quick trip to the very local Brough Castle which is also worth a visit being so near. A lovely peaceful setting in beautiful surroundings.

Oct 2021

This converted chapel is stunning. From the moment you enter you are met with lovely character features, it is fully equipped and we wanted for nothing. It is very cosy with a wonderful feel and ambience. Very clean. We would highly recommend this fantastic little piece of paradise. Thank you.

Oct 2021

Had an amazing time, the facilities were fantastic and you literally covered everything. I especially loved the barbecue and hot tub. Would highly recommend.

Sep 2021

Had a lovely belated 70th Birthday. Loved the space, the sauna, hot tub and barbeque.

Aug 2021

This building is stunning and has kept some of the original features! The added little treats that are left for you are fab. We have just got back and have already booked again for next year! The Scandinavian bbq was a huge hit and the kids loved toasting marshmallows on it and making s’mores!

(Review posted on Facebook)

Aug 2021

A much needed and anticipated family holiday carried over from 2020. Kaber Chapel exceeded our expectations. Loved the themed rooms and all the 'little' extras. Fabulous place to stay, many thanks for everything.

Aug 2021

A fabulous venue, a great host and a great location. We had a wonderful time celebrating a belated 50th Birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our weekend. Already checking calendars for the next date!

Jul 2021

Had a wonderful few days here for a much delayed 60th birthday celebration. Beautiful setting, lovely touches and we even got lovely weather!

Jun 2021

The best place I've ever stayed in my life. I need to book this place again. Loved it so much!

May 2021

Amazing, well equipped chapel, perfect for a well needed get away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be returning. Alison was a great host who was quick to answer any of our questions. An all round great find!

Aug 2020

Thank you so much. We have had an amazing holiday in this fantastic accommodation! We have loved every minute here! The chapel was well equipped with all its amenities. We really appreciate the attention to detail! We would love to return soon!!

Aug 2020

First people to stay after 2020 lockdown! What should have been our wedding weekend. Thanks for a lovely time at the Chapel, we will be back next year.

Jul 2020

We had a lovely stay and would recommend others to stay here. We were confined due to Covid-19 to stay put in the house, so couldn't venture far but the lovely open spaces meant we could play games and watch TV at the same time without being too separated. Also this place comes well equipped with kitchen gear.

Mar 2020

Gorgeous place in such a picturesque location. So peaceful and calm.Had loads of fun and a nice relax in the hot tub.

Mar 2020

Celebrating my 60th Birthday. Fabulous place. The facilities are stunning. The little extras made it magical. We had a fabulous time, will definately return. Thank you.

Feb 2020

Perfect way to spend my 40th in a magical place with my favourite people! Even Storm Dennis couldn't spoil it! Thank you for everything.

Feb 2020

What a fantastic place to meet up with friends. This is an amazing building with lots of history and original features. Everyone is catered for. We have had an amazing stay and will recommend to friends and family.

Jan 2020

Four generations of family members enjoyed our Christmas here. Lovely atmosphere and well equipped, with everything we needed to celebrate Christmas Day and Boxing Day. We enjoyed the sauna and the hot tub!

Dec 2019

Amazing venue and place. It was everything we imagined and more. Spent with family and friends. Will definitely be back. Thank you so much.

Dec 2019

Works Christmas weekend. Beautiful place, well equipped. Good time had by all, far exceeded our expectations.

Nov 2019

Great. 40th birthday party and all had a great time. Thank you.

Nov 2019

Came for 70th birthday, it was very relaxing. Sauna was great, hot tub was good, had a great weekend. Would love to come back for even longer.

Nov 2019

Absolutely wonderful, everyone enjoyed. Had a fabulous time!!

Nov 2019

Kaber Chapel is a very special place, as soon as you arrive the character of the building wins you over. We stayed in a party of 10 adults for a 40th Birthday celebration weekend. The chapel was perfect for this with ample room and facilities to allow everyone to relax in their own space but then meet in the common areas for food and socialising. We honestly can not fault Kaber Chapel it has given us a fantastic weekend with great friends and the little details really are the icing on the cake. The robes, slippers, treats dotted around are just a lovely touch. We will be back.

Oct 2019

Absolutely beautiful. All the little details and touches were just wonderful. Thank you so much!

Oct 2019

An amazing three days to celebrate a 50th. Amazing space, wonderful facilities. The 'detail' made it special. Keep doing what you are doing! We'll be back!

Sep 2019

Thank you for a lovely week. Lots of lovely touches. Hot tub was fab. BBQ great. Enjoyed visiting nearby waterfalls. Sad to leave.

Aug 2019

An amazing unique holiday property in a lovely setting.

Aug 2019

Fantastic, everything we could want. Thank you for a great weekend.

Jul 2019

A perfect group accommodation for the weekend and couldn’t have asked for more. The attention to detail for both amenities, essentials and also the ‘surprises’ were fantastic. The handing of the keys was easy and the host was very helpful on arrival giving us a tour of the chapel and informing us of anything we needed to know. Everyone commented on how nice the chapel was and how it really made the weekend. Super accommodation and if in the area would definitely stay again.

(Review posted on Trip Advisor)

Jul 2019

We had an amazing stay at Kaber Chapel for our girls’ weekend away. The setting was lovely and the house was perfect with lots of lovely little extras. Would definitely recommend! We also had lovely massages from Katie and a paddle-boarding trip at Ullswater Paddle boarding and could not recommend both more highly. Thank you all for making our stay so special.

(Review posted on Facebook)

Jul 2019

Wow! The Chapel is 'fandabidozi'. What an exquisite place to have our daughter's 50th birthday celebration. The children loved all the Roald Dahl references and the hot tub. The indoor BBQ added the finishing touches due to the wet weather.

Jun 2019

Lovely stay catching up with friends, had a fantastic BBQ & enjoyed the weekend.

Jun 2019

We had a lovely weekend made all the better by this fantastic chapel!

Apr 2019

Great accommodation, is a great location, spacious and well equiped.

Apr 2019

Thank you for a lovely weekend staying in the gorgeous chapel! We loved the little touches and gifts. Beautifully converted, containing everything we could've needed. A lovely place for 8 friends to meet, catch up and enjoy

Feb 2019

Absolutely beautiful place. Thank you ever so much, a great time, will definitely return

Feb 2019

What a fantastic place. Had a great birthday celebration for mother and son. Enjoyed all the facilities and will definitely come again. Will definitely recommend to others

Jan 2019

WOW! Fantastic place. Everything you would want in one place. Amazing, thank you so much. Would recommend, FANTASTIC

Jan 2019

Absolutely unreal! We have had the most amazing weekend!

Jan 2019

What a fabulous place to stay. Alison made it special with all the little presents and birthday touches. We have had the best time

Dec 2018

Fabulous weekend celebrating my husbands 50th Birthday In November 2018. Loved the space, great for a group celebration. Everything had been thought about - great kitchen and barbecue area. Had dinner catered for us on the Saturday evening by Pat at Swanson House. Easy walk across the fields to the next village (good pub) and Kirkby Stephen - saw red squirrels.

(Review posted on Facebook)

Nov 2018


Absolutely amazing, beautiful 5 star accommodation. Travelled with 7 others for my 50th birthday celebrations. There is nothing negative to say about this place and we will definitely be back. Fantastically renovated and lots of lovely little touches. Made good use of the indoor BBQ, hot tub and sauna.

(Review posted on Google Maps)

Nov 2018

Perfect accommodation for groups. We were 4 couples celebrating 2 big birthdays. There are lots of lovely touches which I won't reveal and keep as a surprise for any future guests. The kitchen has everything you need. I brought lots of "just in case" things which I don't think I used much of. We had a great weekend and made lots of lovely memories.

(Review posted on Google Maps)

Nov 2018

Weekend celebrating a 70th birthday. There is everything you need for a great break in the chapel. Really impressed at the attention to detail and the little hidden delights around the place were a big hit with our 5 year old. Thank you

Oct 2018

Fantastic 9 day stay. Always wanted to stay in a church and what a transformation. Very tasteful conversion. Views from upstairs lounge were wonderful. Weather couldn't have been better. The change in season and the effect on landscapes really captured our imagination. It was like the fall seen in America but so close to home. Over the week the scenery has changed in front of our eyes. Best week we could have chosen. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable

Oct 2018

Amazing place everything was just fantastic we went for my dads 60th birthday with the family the place felt like your own home so comfortable thank you for a amazing weekend definitely would recommend to people and stay there again but for longer.

(Review posted on Facebook)

Sep 2018

Lovely Place. We had a lovely family week chilling and relaxing. Thank-you.

Sep 2018

Fascinating building which has been modernised uniquely, yet still keeping the charm and historical feeling and features.

Aug 2018

Beautiful accommodation with ample space and amenities. The indoor BBQ room makes it something special with the added bonus of an indoor hot tub and sauna means come rain or shine fun can be had during your stay. I loved all the Dahl trinkets to find around the chapel too and I want them showers at my house! Loved spending my mother in laws 60th birthday together with all the family at this amazing place.

(Review posted on Facebook)

Aug 2018

My family booked Kaber Chapel as a surprise for my 60th Birthday. From the moment I walked into this building, I have been totally intrigued and fascinated with every aspect of staying in this beautiful, warm and welcoming chapel. I particularly like the whole layout of the dining/kitchen, spacious lounge, hot tub & sauna and all the beautiful bedrooms (especially ours with the bath!!). I have travelled all over the world but never stayed in such an amazing place like Kaber Chapel.

Aug 2018

Thank-you for a wonderful stay in a beautiful location. Loved the unique touches and as a lover of the Roald Dahl books they didn't go unnoticed. Lovely weekend. Thank you for being great hosts.

Jul 2018

Fantastic weekend. Would highly recommend. This place is in a great remote location. If you want a quiet, peaceful break away, this place is perfect.

May 2018

The location is fantastic and the chapel is fully equipped to meet all needs. The booking was easy and the welcome warm.

Mar 2018

We had the good fortune to enjoy a weekend stay at Kaber Chapel in October 2016. Our group was made up of eight adults and one well-behaved dog. Alison was very welcoming and showed us where everything was and how everything worked. The Chapel is very well appointed and very comfortably furnished. The hot tub, sauna and inside BBQ were a huge hit and were well used during our stay. The views from the Chapel over the surrounding countryside are stunning and there are plenty of local walks to go on as well as a fab country pub in Winton called The Bay Horse, which is just a two-minute drive away. Would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for a luxurious, dog friendly, self-catering holiday in a stunning part of Cumbria. We will definitely be booking the Chapel again.

May 2016

The chapel was superb; the family enjoyed it very much. Many positive comments from family and friends.

Apr 2015

Photo: old keys at Kaber Chapel